Surprise Guest at the Halloween Party

 

turkey

 

SURPRISE GUEST AT THE HALLOWEEN PARTY

by

Barbara Bockman

 

 

Tom Turkey looked through the chicken wire fence at the farmhouse. “Wish I could be at the Halloween Party.”

Tom pecked at the lock on the gate. Too hard

He fluttered up against the fence. Too high.

He scratched at the dirt, but the ground was hard as cement.

His wings might be weak, but he had gotten as fat as a pumpkin and he was strong. He pushed a box against the fence. He leaned the broomstick up against the creaky box and climbed up. Over he flew.

Tom was a hit at the party.

“See you at Thanksgiving.”

***************************

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Cairns
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 15:27:06

    Another cute story, Barbara!

    Reply

  2. barbarabockman
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 15:43:17

    Thanks, Barbara. When I went to the contest site, I saw that I had to submit the exact url for the story. That’s why I made the second blog post. I did this second story in about 15 minutes. I had to shorten it into this version to get it to exactly 100 words. The contest closes tonight. I hope I win a prize.

    Reply

  3. Susanna Leonard Hill
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 20:13:45

    Very clever, Barbara! I imagine the folks at the party were quite impressed with Tom’s costume! 🙂 Thanks so much for joining in the Halloweensie fun (and the Thanksgiving fun … killing two birds with one … oops, I guess I shouldn’t say that in front of Tom! :))

    Reply

    • barbarabockman
      Nov 01, 2014 @ 13:33:36

      Hi Susanna, I’m so glad my friend Michelle Barnes told us about this contest at our Wednesday evening SCBWI meeting. I enjoyed writing a story with this theme. The word count limitation is a great exercise for picture book writers, which I am. Thanks to you and your readers for enjoying and commenting.

      Reply

  4. Penny Parker Klostermann
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 20:58:45

    Tom is a tenacious turkey! I’m thinking Tom better party because his partying time is limited 🙂 Fun story, Barbara!

    Reply

  5. pennyannecole
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 21:10:35

    Cute, cute, and more cute. Good thing I just eat seafood! Thanks for sharing, Penny (www.penelopeannecole.com)

    Reply

  6. julie rowan zoch
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 21:49:44

    Great unexpected guest!

    Reply

  7. jdewdropsofink
    Oct 31, 2014 @ 23:20:46

    Hmm. I think he’ll have better luck at a Halloween party than a Thanksgiving one. Fun twist at the end. Good luck!

    Reply

  8. barbarabockman
    Nov 01, 2014 @ 13:37:16

    Hi Julie, dew drops of ink, and the two Pennys. Thanks for reading my Halloween story and commenting. I will read as many of the entries as I can and make comments. Hooray for Susanna Leonard Hill for providing the opportunity !!!

    Reply

  9. Rupali
    Nov 01, 2014 @ 15:57:08

    Hehehe! Very a strong will for Tom, he finally made it. As fat as pumpkin was so cute. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  10. Cathy C. Hall
    Nov 01, 2014 @ 17:54:35

    Oh, that clever Tom Turkey!

    Reply

  11. Stacy S. Jensen
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 09:13:20

    Oh, Tom’s a fun character. And I love the two holidays together. Now, I want to see if he makes it to the Thanksgiving party and in what fashion. Ha!

    Reply

  12. Carol R. Skipper
    Nov 02, 2014 @ 20:33:49

    Love it!!😋 C Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply

  13. barbarabockman
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 23:58:02

    Hi Rupali, Cathy,Stacy, and Carol. It looks as if I’m going to have to write a Thanksgiving story and find out what Tom Turkey’s destiny will be. One thing is certain, there will be no fish for Thanksgiving Dinner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 39,295 Visits
