BOO !! and The Next Big Thing !!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Boo!

HI Folks,

Hope I didn’t scare you too much, there.

I am participating in THE NEXT BIG THING Blog Hop, and I have been asked to answer some questions about my Work in Progress.

But before I do, let me mention that this blog hop will continue next week on the blogs of Shellie Neumeier and Jayne Moraski. You will find their blog addys down at the end of this post.

And I want to thank Penelope Anne Cole for inviting me to participate and look forward to The Next Big Works of Literature here and in the other postings.

  • Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing Blog Hop:What is the working title of your book? RANIL AND THE BABY ELEPHANT.

    Where did the idea come from for the book? I LEARNED ABOUT AN INDIVIDUAL WHO WAS WORKING TO HELP THE ELEPHANT SITUATION IN SRI LANKA IN AN ARTICLE IN THE SMITHSONIAN MAGAZINE. THE SAD THING IS THAT ELEPHANTS ARE LOOSING THEIR HABITAT BECAUSE IT TAKES FORWARD THINKING PEOPLE TO PLAN AND IMPLIMENT WAYS FOR ELEPHANTS AND PEOPLE TO SHARE A SMALL-ISH ISLAND.

    What genre does your book fall under? MIDDLE GRADE CONTEMPORARY FICTION.

    Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? SINCE THE CHARACTERS IN THE STORY ARE SRI LANKAN, I CAN’T NAME SPECIFIC ACTORS. MAYBE ONE OF THE KIDS FROM “SLUM DOG MILIONAIRE.”

    What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? IN ORDER TO SAVE THE BABY ELEPHANT FROM BEING TAKEN BY A CIRCUS, RANIL MUST COME UP WITH A WAY TO MAKE MONEY IN HIS VILLAGE.

    Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? I WOULD BE VERY HAPPY IF MY BOOK WERE TAKEN UP BY AN AGENCY, BUT IN LIEU OF THAT, I WILL PROBABLY TRY TO GO WITH A TRADITIONAL PUBLISHER.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? THE STORY STARTED OUT AS A MAGAZINE STORY—VERY SHORT. THEN WHEN I DECIDED TO EXPAND IT, IT TOOK ABOUT A YEAR OF WRITING AND RESEARCHING.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? SINCE THIS IS AN ENVIRONMENTAL STORY, I WOULD COMPARE IT TO CARL HIAASEN’S HOOT.

Who or What inspired you to write this book? I FEEL TERRIBLE THAT THE ELEPHANTS OF SRI LANKA ARE LOOSING THEIR HABITAT AND THEIR LIVES TO AGRICULTURE.
I SALUTE HELPFUL PEOPLE, SUCH AS KARL WALD, WHO ARE WORKING HARD TO OVERCOME THE PROBLEM.
What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? THE SOLUTION THAT RANIL COMES UP WITH IS TO START A COMPANY IN HIS VILLAGE TO MAKE PAPER OUT OF ELEPHANT POO.

Now, tune in next Wednesday, November 7, to the following blogs to hear all about Shellie’s and Jayne’s upcoming books.

Shellie Neumeier :  http://shellieneumeier.com

Jayne Moraski : http://jaynemoraski.tumblr.com/

If you would like to read some more blogs about new books, go to Penelope Ann’s blog and work backward:    http://penelopeannecole.blogspot.com/

Link to Children’s Literary Classics Author Spotlight:

http://www.clcawards.org/Author-Spotlight.html

http://www.clcreviews.blogspot.com/
 
***********

Fantastic Flight’s Gold Award

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina Cho
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 01:03:56

    Sounds like a good premise for this MG novel. Are you already through writing it? I hope you find a publisher.

    Reply

  2. Pen and Ink Blogspot
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 01:41:32

    Sounds like a good book. Tune in next week, Barbara. You’ll recoginise one of the first pages.

    Reply

  3. Penelope Anne Cole
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 02:10:02

    Hi Barbara, This sounds like a great book. You know I love stories about saving animals, protecting wildlife habitat, and safeguarding our environment. Saving these magnificent elephants is truly a worthy effort. I look forward to reading your novel! Our new slogan is: Save the Elephants!
    Penelope, Author of Magical Matthew.

    Reply

  4. Mirka Breen
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 09:30:02

    You are much braver than I am, Barbara, to talk about your next endeavor. (I was invited to this challenge by three others, and had to decline X3.) I’m one of those funny people who can never discuss a work in progress, lest discussing it would make me just not write it…
    Your Next Big Thing sounds fascinating.

    Reply

    • barbarabockman
      Oct 31, 2012 @ 23:12:11

      Hi Mirka,
      There are so many things that get in the way of my writing, one more wouldn’t make any difference. I don’t usually discuss my work with anyone except my critique groups and family, but since this one is almost ready to submit, I decided to go ahead.

      Reply

  5. Nancy Stewart
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 10:54:55

    Here.s to The Next Big Thing! Great post, as usual.

    Reply

  6. evelynchristensen
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 13:49:48

    Enjoyed hearing about your work in progress, Barbara. Sounds interesting. I hope it goes well and ends up getting a YES from a publisher some day. Best wishes.

    Reply

  7. Bonnie Ogle
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 14:37:01

    Paper made of elephant poop. Kids will love it! And what a great ecological lesson!

    Reply

  8. barbarabockman
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 17:37:26

    from my cousin, Nancy Robinson:
    Barbara enjoyed the blog tremendously,,all the new books sound great,,good luck with your book signing at the museum,,keep um coming i love them …..nancy

    Reply

  9. Diane Kress Hower
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 17:16:48

    Barbara,
    I am so happy for you and your new book, and sad for our fellow animals and plant kingdoms that suffer from us. I am looking forward to reading this book someday, hopefully soon!

    Reply

    • barbarabockman
      Nov 01, 2012 @ 21:23:02

      Hi Diane
      Anyone who lives so close to nature and takes such beautiful photographs as you do, has proven herself a friend of animals and plants.
      I, too, hope it won’t be very long before my next novel is published.

      Reply

  10. susan Hornbach
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 13:14:09

    I love the idea of this book Barbara. I just read about elephants that paint pictures and elephants that traveled miles to come to a humans funeral because they loved him so much. Elephants are very intelligent creatures. Best wishes with this book Barbara.

    Reply

  11. Katie L. Carroll
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 15:23:23

    Elephant poo in a MG! Brilliant! Best of luck with it.

    Reply

  12. barbarabockman
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 00:22:01

    Hi Katie,
    Well, it’s not gratuitous, but I hope the kids get a kick out of it. Thanks for your good wishes.

    Reply

  13. playboy bunny stuff
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 03:38:56

    playboy enterprises careers playboy bunny stuff http://www.swmimindepennt.info/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 39,295 Visits
