Interview with author Alyce Joy Rininger

Welcome All:

If you leave a comment, I will put your name in the hat for the drawing of a free hard copy of Alyce Joy Rininger’s book, KA-BOOM!

HI ALYCE JOY,

THANKS FOR BEING WITH US TODAY, CONTINUING YOUR CYBER JOURNEY WITH THE WORLD OF INK. EVERYONE WHO HAS READ ABOUT THE ADVENTURES OF YOUR FAIRY, SPROUT, AND TAYLOR, THE LITTLE GIRS SHE BEFRIENDS, HAVE THOUGHT IT SOUNDS LIKE LOTS OF FUN.

NOW, SHARE WITH US HOW YOU BECAME A WRITER AND ANY WRITING QUIRKS YOU HAVE.

I made up verses for my little ones, while getting them ready for bed. At the time, they were two and three years old. They were so adorable trying to memorize them and pronouncing the words was just too cute. We thought we were having fun, but actually, it was the beginning of something not to be known, until many years later.

Eventually, I wrote the verses down on paper. In 1975, my husband, Arland, had them made into a booklet. He also had them printed on sheets of pastel colored paper. Soon I was making plaques out of scrap wood I had burned. The verses on colored paper were soaked in warm tea water and burned around the edges, then glued to the burned plaques and varnished. I sold them in my husband’s booths at the Sportsman Shows. The women liked coming into our booths.

 When my children turned into my grandchildren, I began writing them stories. That is when I seemed to be guided into writing books by my family and friends. After burning life-sized pictures of wildlife onto all the doors of my home, I decided to put away my burning tools and get serious about writing. I took a course by mail, at the Institute of Children’s Literature, to learn how to properly put my thoughts on paper.

Yes, I have writing quirks. Number one, when I’m making notes to myself, I switch from writing to printing, back to writing, then printing etc, etc. I don’t know why I do that. Another quirk is, sometimes when I’m writing, my mind starts working too fast and it gets boggled. I will stop and work on a Sudoku puzzle for a while. It works.

I’m into quirky words and names for my stories. The kids seem to perk up when they are learning something silly, weird or different. A lot of my quirkiness comes straight from the dictionary. One last quirk for now…my pens are always disappearing from every phone on the main floor of this house. I accused my husband of taking them, until I kept finding them in my office. No, I never accuse him anymore, since I pretty much know where I’ll find them.

HERE IS A QUICK REVIEW OF ALYCE JOY’S BOOK, WHICH I RECENTLY REVIEWED ON THIS BLOG. 

KA-BOOM! is about a little fairy named Sprout who runs into trouble quite often. This little fairy is in the service of her queen, the beloved Splaminda Herminda, who rules Spritesville. The queen sends Sprout to different places to do whatever job needs done. Sprout meets a little girl named Taylor after blowing up Taylor’s dollhouse. Sprout doesn’t give up trying to get Taylor to trust her. She and Taylor finally become friends after Sprout shrinks Taylor and together they have a fantastic adventure. Taylor never thought she would be talking to Sir Leapsalot, let alone ride on his back and hopping lily pads. The message? Never give up.

ALYCE JOY, IT HAS BEEN FUN LEARNING ABOUT YOU AND YOUR QUIRKY WAYS. YOU JUST REMINDED ME THAT I DID WOOD BURNING WHEN I WAS A KID, BUT I WAS NOT AS MUCH INTO IT AS YOU WERE. THANKS AGAIN FOR BEING ON STORIES A LA MODE.

HI READERS—DON’T FORGET TO LEAVE YOUR NAME AND EMAIL FOR ME TO GET IN TOUCH WITH THE WINNER OF KA-BOOM!

KA-BOOM! is published by Halo Publishing International. Here is the link where you will find Alyce Joy Rininger’s page with the buy link to KA-BOOM!

http://www.halopublishing.com/bookstore/Alyce-Joy-Rininger

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. looking for shared hosting
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 01:26:04

    Just wish to say your article is as amazing.
    The clarity in your post is just excellent and i could assume you are an
    expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS
    feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up
    the enjoyable work.

    Reply

  2. Penelope Anne Cole
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 02:10:11

    Hi Barbara and Alyce, always interesting to see what inspires other writers and how they work. The book sounds like great fun. Please enter me in the drawing!

    Reply

  3. Nancy Stewart
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 06:18:37

    This was a fun read. It’s amazing how many of us can have ideas working their way to the top over the years, and Ka-Boom- suddenly they’re realized!

    Reply

  4. Ev
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 09:00:18

    Thanks, Barbara and Alyce Joy, for sharing. It’s always interesting to hear about the quirks and writing habits of other authors. Taylor and Sprout sound like a fun pair. Best wishes!

    Reply

  5. barbarabockman
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 20:06:50

    Thanks to Penelope Anne, Nancy, and Ev for visiting . I’m sure Alyce Joy will appreciate your comments.

    Reply

  6. barbarabockman
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 11:47:12

    Announcing: the winner of the drawing for Alyce Joy Rininger’s book, KA-BOOM! is Ev.
    Congratulations, Ev! I know you will enjoy this cute book; it’s a good one to share with grandchildren.

    Reply

  7. Alyce Joy Rininger
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:56:18

    Thank you Barbara for having me on Stories a la Mode. What fun it has been for me. I hope Ev enjoys KA-BOOM!

    Reply

  8. barbarabockman
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 20:59:38

    Hi Alyce Joy–I’m sure Ev will enjoy your book. It was fun for me, too.

    Reply

  9. loans
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 18:58:35

    Yes! Finally something about cash advance.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 39,295 Visits
