My Blogging Awards

How nice to come home from a week in North Carolina celebrating the Fourth of July to find a surprise in my Inbox. I’ve been tagged.

These Awards were passed to me by a terrific blogger, Mirka Breen. If you haven’t already read my review of her middle grade novel, The Voice of Thunder, you can find it in the post for June 16. Her Mirka Muse blog address is: http://mirkabreen.blogspot.com/

Here is one of the Awards:

For the Fabulous Blog Ribbon, I get to name five things I like and five I don’t.

Five things I like:

  1. Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
  2. Wild flowers
  3. Bugs
  4. Children’s books
  5. Art Deco

Five things I don’t like:

  1. Litterbugs and all forms of disrespect of the Earth
  2. Tailgaters
  3. Rudeness
  4. Cold weather
  5. Horror movies

Next is The Booker Award

The Booker Award comes with the request that I name five favorite books. My list of favorite books is a mile long, so I will name five that just pop into my head.

  1. Miss Hickory by Carolyn Sherwin Bailey
  2. The Skull of Truth: A Magic Shop book by Bruce Coville
  3. Blackwater by Eve Bunting
  4. Millions of Cats by Wanda Gag
  5. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

Those who know me well know I refuse to live in the real world.

Now I get to pass both awards to SIX WORTHY BLOGGERS:

Bill Kirk: http://www.billkirkwrites.com/

Holly Owen:  http://vanishingveil.com/

Carrie Clickard:  http://www.clclickard.com/

Diane Kress Hower:  http://dkhower.blogspot.com/

Joanne Lamond:  http://joannelamond.coffeecup.com/Home.html

Priya Iyengar:  http://everythingmattersinlife.wordpress.com/home/

Check these bloggers out. They are all fabulous writers of children’s stories and I am honored to be in their company.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy Stewart
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 07:37:57

    This is great, Barbara! You made me smile, reading your likes and dislikes! (A lot like mine, I have to admit…)

    Congratulations, and thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. Mirka Breen
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 09:37:56

    I’ll join you with the tailgaters peeve. I have no idea why anyone does this. Anyone?
    Enjoy the awards; you have more than earned them. The Booker is my favorite. I should have mentioned that it’s for blogs that are at least 50% about books and writing.

    Reply

  3. barbarabockman
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 11:23:44

    Hi Nancy. How nice to know that we have similar likes and dislikes.

    Mirka, Thanks for filling in more info about The Booker Award. I really like the looks of the two awards.

    Reply

  4. Holly Owen
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 13:38:38

    Thank you, Barbara, for passing along your accolades to my humble website. To paraphrase my favorite book, “I’m stupefied.” I hope I used ‘paraphrase’ right, I wouldn’t want anyone to think I didn’t know what I was doing.

    Reply

  5. Penelope Anne Cole
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 15:09:29

    Very nice, Barbara. Good job on the likes and dislikes and book awards. I can’t name my favorites, since they change the more I read.

    Reply

  6. barbarabockman
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 00:19:21

    Hi Holly,
    Your blog is very beautiful, but I think it’s wonderful that you spend more time on your beautiful writing.

    Hi Penelope Anne,
    I know what you mean. It’s impossible to pick the best loved book, but I can always list a few favorites.

    Reply

  7. barbarabockman
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 16:51:27

    Congratulations! All your hard work and dedication is paying off. Of course, I was
    not familiar with these awards, but I love them. And you are so deserving of recognition.
    Thank you for including my website on your list. Very sweet!
    We were in Highlands, NC at the beginning of June for my niece’s wedding. Such a beautiful place—we always enjoy going there.

    Take care.

    Joanne

    Thanks, Joanne. I love your website because it is so unusual.
    Barbara

    Reply

  8. Betty Wagner
    Jul 15, 2012 @ 09:58:52

    Congratulations!! I always knew you would be a writer. When we were kids, all you talked about was writing books someday. I am very happy for you and you definately deserve these awards!

    Reply

  9. Margo L. Dill
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 21:19:06

    Congrats, congrats on your blogging awards. Blogging can be such a lonely business sometimes. It’s nice to be recognized!

    Reply

  10. barbarabockman
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 22:06:22

    Thanks, Margo. I guess in the “lonely business” aspect, blogging is a lot like writing fiction.
    Then there are the days when you get to socialize and work with some really good writers. That’s what happened to me last Saturday. I attended a workshop led by Florida writer and mentor of writers, Joyce Sweeney. A good time was had by all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 38,797 Visits
