A Surprise in the Mail

A few months ago, I received a nice little check in the mail from Hopscotch for Girls concerning the reprint of my story, “Rocks in my Pocket,” which was in the April 2009 issue of the magazine.

I was happy about that and wrote to ask what issue it was being reprinted in. This is the reply I got:

 

Dear Barbara,

Your story was used in a reading assessment test. Your name was listed as the author and Hopscotch as the publication it appeared in. We are not allowed to see the test copy. I’m sorry this was not notated on your check. Congratulations on having your story chosen.

Sincerely,

editor

            ***   ***    ***   ***

The story is about my mother-in-law, Sophie Bockman, when she was a teen-ager. Her first job was that of a pianist in a movie house in New York City about 1915—during the days of silent pictures.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy Rosenthal Stewart
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 06:00:09

    Congratulations, Barbara! Well done.

    My father-in-law, as well, when he was a young teen, played in the movie house in his neighborhood for the silents! He loved doing it and, in fact, became a pianist as a profession.

    Again, congratulations!

    Reply

  2. barbarabockman
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 21:24:35

    What a nice coincidence, Nancy. Thanks for sharing that.

    Reply

  3. Mirka Breen
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 11:43:16

    My daughter, having just completed the High School Exit Exam, just asked me who writes the paragraphs and stories she had to tackle in the language arts section. Now I can say that I know someone who did!
    This is great, Barbara.

    Reply

  4. barbarabockman
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 20:57:58

    Hi Mirka, that makes me feel SO good. Please tell your daughter “Hi” for me.

    Reply

  5. Summersnow
    Mar 29, 2014 @ 17:19:11

    I actually am reading you story in my test book 🙂 I’m 13 years old and wanted to read more of the book and I really like it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 38,790 Visits
