Review of Joanne Lamond’s novel, Daughter of the Sun: The Herbolaria’s Story

Warm up your Kindles, Everybody, ’cause you’re going to want to read this book.

I’m happy to present Joanne Lamond’s review of her book, Daughter of the Sun: The Herbolaria’s Story.

Joanne is an friend of mine from the time when the Gainesville SCBWI critique group was first formed in 2002. We were sorry when she moved away because she showed excellent insight into the stories that were read for critiquing.

*****************************************************************************

Barbara, my first adult novel is now available from Amazon and Barnes & Noble as an e-book.  Daughter of the Sun: The Herbolaria’s Story is a fast-paced, carefully researched  historical account of life in Spanish la Florida in the late 17th Century. Set in the Timucuan province of Potano, near modern-day Gainesville, Florida, the story centers around a young native healer, Esperanza. Love for her people and her heritage forces her to choose a course that puts her in conflict with Spanish authority and the Church. Her trek across northern Florida to save her friends from English invaders and pirates ultimately saves her people, who are on the verge of extinction.

As a native Floridian I have always been intrigued by the history of this Spanish colonial period. Living near Gainesville and my alma mater, the University of Florida, rekindled this interest and I started writing a children’s novel. But the more I researched and wrote, the more my characters begged to be adults fighting for their survival. The ending came to me quickly. In reading William Bartram’s account of his journeys through the south, I came upon a description of a beautiful race of women living in a swampy area of northern Florida and southern Georgia. Their men were fierce warriors. The women prayed with rosaries and spoke a strange language. He dubbed them Daughters of the Sun. So, though Esperanza’s story begins in the beautiful, rolling hills of Potano, it ends in the Okefenokee Swamp.

I hope your readers enjoy my book.

Thank you again for including an announcement on your blog.

Joanne Lamond

**************

I would like to add that Joanne did a wonderful job of incorporating native American words and folk tales into her book. Her characters are alive with purpose and emotions and her word pictures show old Florida in its wild simplicity. The conflicts are life and death struggles.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill Kirk
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 23:12:20

    This sounds like a book my mom would be very interested in. She is a writer at heart and a long time Floridian. My parents live in Fort Walton Beach and my mom was president of the local historical society for a number of years. The review is a great teaser. Thanks for sharing it.

    Reply

  2. Nancy Rosenthal Stewart
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 07:09:17

    As a new resident of Florida, I found this review particularly appealing. This is one that sounds rich in detail and interesting facts. Thanks to you both!

    Reply

  3. Bill Kirk
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 13:37:30

    Hi, Barbara. I followed the link on the comment challenge site. As usual, I am enjoying your posts—you are much more disciplined than I. Perhaps this year I’ll do a better job with my New Year’s resolutions.

    Reply

  4. barbarabockman
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 21:41:39

    Nancy, let me know if you get a chance to read Daughter of the Sun. And, Bill–your mom, too.

    Reply

  5. sistema digestivos
    Oct 11, 2012 @ 07:57:21

    Te dejo un enlace para que podamos seguir en contacto despues de leer tu blog me quedé maravillada con la informacion. Mi email consultas@herbolariofarmaflora.com
    Te dejo mi email para estar en contacto y poder colaborar mutuamente en nuestros blogs y webs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 39,089 Visits
