My Guest: Brian Knight

Would you believe that my guest, Brian Knight, a published author, did not like to read when he was a youngster? But I’ll let him explain and you’ll understand where his font of story ideas springs from.

Hi Brian, Welcome to Stories a la Mode. I’m so happy to have you as my guest. I’ve enjoyed reading about your journey to publication and I know my readers will, too. Take it away . . .

Who Needs An Imagination?

Not too long ago I was asked the question ‘at what age did you start reading.’ I must admit that I had to think about that question before I answered. You see, as a child I was not a big reader. In fact, books bored me. Right about now you may be thinking – how did he become an author if books bored him? Many people who knew me back then have asked that question many times. The truth is, writing found me but that is for another post.

No, reading wasn’t high on my to-do list for the first 12 or so years. I would read in school but after that torturous experience was over I would stay as far from books as my favorite bicycle would carry me. I think back on those days and I don’t regret not reading. Oh yes, I heard that deep intact of air from all of you but please allow me to explain.

In those days we did not have all these electronic gadgets and toys. Heck, cell phones were nothing more than ideas. Some would call me old while most would call me a young pup but what I just said still holds true. I was raised in the country. My dog, basketball, bicycle and favorite toy gun were some of my prized possessions. I can’t think of a time, growing up, when I wasn’t riding the country roads, playing ball or running through the forest. I look back on those days fondly now that I am grown with a son of my own. What does this have to do with writing? I’ll tell you.

Memories, thoughts and dreams follow each of us as we journey from child to adult but the one thing that I’m most grateful for is that my imagination carried through and is still vibrant to this day. Back when I was a kid my imagination took the form of cowboys and Indians while I ran through the woods or playing against Magic Johnson on the basketball court or racing down bandits on the mean streets. Of course I can’t do those things now or a strait jacket would be waiting for me so my imagination morphed and changed. It took on a whole new form and began to shape stories in my mind; stories I would soon write down and stories I will one day share.

 The imagination is such a wonderful thing. It can spark a new invention or set off a movement that can change the landscape of how we do things. It was imagination that brought to bear the Harry Potter books which opened the doors to reading for thousands if not millions of young people. Perhaps those young people are still reading. Who knows, maybe their imagination was sparked and they are now writing.

What finally sparked my love for reading? My imagination was there and I was using it regularly but books….not so much. It started with comic books. The perfect combination of pictures and words fed my imagination nicely until I grew older. Then it happened. My imagination was captured by the first Lord of the Rings movies and it ignited my desire to read. It was like a famished person being fed for the first time. I was ravenous. I would read books all night. I didn’t care that I had work the next day all I wanted to do was read that next sentence, that next chapter, that next book.

 My imagination merged with my desire to read and a fireball erupted inside. It was like a dormant volcano had been awakened but instead of a flow of lava, a flow of stories flowed forth. It was amazing to experience this and only now can I see and understand that it all started with Magic Johnson on the court, the bandits on the country roads, and the Indians in the woods.

Bio: SB Knight has seen his poetry and short stories published in both books and magazines. Now, with the publishing of his first novel, Born of Blood, he has achieved a goal and dream set many years ago. Currently he is working on the sequel to Born of Blood which will be the second novel for the Blood Chronicles series.

SB Knight is the creator of ‘The New Author;’ a blog that started as a learning tool but has since grown into a community of friends and peers. He is also co-owner of Premium Promotional Services where authors can find the help they need to promote their book(s) on the Internet.

You can find SB Knight here:

Website: http://www.sb-knight.com/

Blog: http://the-new-author.blogspot.com/

Twitter: @thenewauthor

Google+: +Brian (Brian Knight)

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/FansofSBK (I would really like more Likes, thanks)

Thanks again for sharing with us today, Brian. I will tweet this post @ babs22582 . (I’m having trouble posting on facebook, but I’ll try).

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy Rosenthal Stewart
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 07:02:29

    This is such a good example of the different types of readers we all are and what sparks that desire to read. Such an excellent interview. Thanks to you both for sharing the experience.

    Reply

  2. SB Knight (@TheNewAuthor)
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 09:56:29

    Nancy – Thank you for reading my post today and for your comment.

    Reply

  3. ccgevry
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 09:57:31

    Great article. How neat that comic books led to your current career choice. What better proof that it takes all kinds of readers.

    Wishing you the best,

    Cheryl

    Reply

    • SB Knight (@TheNewAuthor)
      Oct 13, 2011 @ 11:50:59

      ccgevry – Yes, comics played a large part but I will also share that those school assignments went a long way. I read Edger Allen Poe and William Shakespeare, to name a few, and they made an impression too. Comics got the wheels turning though. Thank you for your comment.

      Reply

  4. J. Aday Kennedy
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 12:45:18

    Brian,
    You’re so right. Exposing children to any & all reading material opens their minds to a world of possibility.
    Aday Kennedy
    The Differently-Abled Author

    Reply

  5. Barbara Ehrentreu (@barbehr)
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 15:02:51

    Brian,
    As a teacher I used to find kids who felt like you. Yet they would read a comic book any time. In fact, some used to try to read them by hiding them inside real books. So early in my teaching I decided any kind of reading was okay with me. So I had kids who even liked to read Popular Mechanics as well as comic books. Anything that stimulates a kid’s mind is fine. I like that you also were able to learn from your school assignments too. That is very rare for a kid who only read comic books. However, many kids do move onto more difficult books from comic books. You are right that it takes interest and that is why you can never discount a kid who isn’t reading well. You need to give them skills so when that spur of interest happens they will be ready. Glad you were able to become a writer too! All that reading spilled over into writing.

    Great interview, Barbara!

    Reply

    • SB Knight (@TheNewAuthor)
      Oct 13, 2011 @ 17:58:16

      Ah yes, Popular Mechanics was another I enjoyed. To this day I remember one assignment where we had to recite, from memory, 100 lines from Romeo and Juliet. I admit, I enjoyed that play but my two favorites were Macbeth and Julies Caesar. I really enjoyed those two. When it came to poetry I was fond of The Raven and The Tell-Tale Heart. I like the dark, gritty feel of them. I try to pass these things on to my son….he is reading comics now.

      Reply

  6. barbarabockman
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 21:24:16

    Hi Brian, you certainly created some interest by talking about how you grew from being a comic books reader to school assignments to becoming a writer. Lots of kids complain about reading “good” books, but in the end, the writers who really know how to manipulate the language are the ones we remember. BTW–I was a big comic book reader; just last Christmas, my son gave me an Archie Comic.
    Thanks again for being here.
    Thanks to Nancy, CC, J. Aday, and BarbaraE for dropping in and leaving comments.

    Reply

  7. Janet Ann Collins
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 10:25:58

    It’s a shame most modern kids can’t go out to play without adult supervision as we old fogeys used to do.

    Reply

  8. barbarabockman
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 13:27:36

    Hey, who are you calling an old fogey? But, yeah, I absolutely agree with you, Jan. I’m glad I lived in the country where we could be out all day and no one worried about us. But I have to admit, i loved listening to the radio–that was before tv.

    Reply

  9. SB Knight (@TheNewAuthor)
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 15:08:50

    Janet and Barbara – I remember when dad brought home the color tv with remote! I was so excited but it didn’t keep me inside. I would not trade my time in the country for anything. Those were great times. It is sad that adults have to push kids out the door to get them to play. My mom had to drag my brothers and I in the house when we were young.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 39,732 Visits
