My Guest: C. K. (Charlie) Volnek

The Blog Train is pulling into the station; it’s the end of the line for the Muse authors of books for young adults and middle grade readers on Stories a la Mode. It’s been fun and exciting to get to know the other eleven writers who signed on for this excursion.

My last guest is C. K. Volnek, also known as Charlie. She’s written a book that has great appeal to this Native North Carolinian—Ghost Dog of Roanoke Island. I remember studying about the Lost Colony when I was in grade school. I think it’s a subject many people have pondered, and Charlie has taken on the job of discovering more about those long-ago happenings—even if she has to make it all up. And with her amazing imagination, she has created a mystery within the mystery.

Now, let’s find out a little about Charlie herself. See what choices she would make—or not.

Herrrrrressssssss Charlie!

This or That?

Hi, I’m C.K. Volnek, author of tween novel Ghost Dog of Roanoke Island, which became available September 23rd, through MuseItUp Publishing. This interview really has nothing to do with my book, but it was fun to answer these unusual questions and help you get to know who I am. Though as you get to know me, I hope you’ll choose to find out more about my book as well.

I’m also so excited about my book birthday, I’m giving a FREE e-copy of Ghost Dog of Roanoke Island to one lucky reader who leaves me a comment. Good luck!
Puppies or Kittens? Oh, they’re both so cute, especially with the new you-tube videos of the stick-up kitty. But my heart still belongs to the canine side. Puppies can only warm my heart and make me smile. They are filled with unconditional love, crazy happy to see when I’ve only been gone ten minutes and always willing to bear a shoulder when I’m sad. They have provided many a laugh, much affection and tons of acceptance. To me, they are just kids with fur and I can’t imagine my life without them.

Beach or Lake? Having grown up in the middle of the United States, and I mean literally the middle…I loved our vacations to the beach. Feeling the sand between my toes, gazing at the beautiful blue-green ocean and searching for iridescent seashells were thrilling. But I still enjoyed coming home to the lakes surrounding my home. The ocean is powerful and massive, wild and untamed while lakes are serene and picturesque, stunning and majestic. Dream Lake in the middle of the Rocky Mountains rivals all my memories of our beach visits.

Paperback or Ebook? Noooooo. It’s so hard to choose. My hubby got me a Kindle for Christmas and I absolutely love it. Even my hubby, who said he would never read off a Kindle has been found downloading books. But, call it vanity, I still can’t wait to see my books in print form, to feel them in my hands and be able to autograph it to favorite family members and friends.

Soda or Lemonade? I like Lemonade, but I’m still a soda fan. There’s just something about the bubbles fizzing and popping in my mouth, tingling as they make their way to my stomach. I know I shouldn’t enjoy it so much, but Diet Coke is my one major vice.

Green or Blue?  Oh, please, give me yellow. I love the sunshiny happiness of this color. I can’t help but smile when I see it. Plus it only reminds me of the sun. Yes, I’m a fair-weather lover. Give me summer any day.

Werewolves or Vampires?
I do love paranormal books and movies, but I really don’t like either Vampires or Werewolves. Sorry to all the Twilight fans. Give me a creepy monster or something less human.

Romance or Urban Fantasy?  I enjoy both when there is a strong hero or heroine with lots of room to grow. Give me a character I can empathize with and I’m with you.

Mustard or Ketchup?  Depends. For burgers and fries, nothing like a thick glob of ketchup. My hubby says I can never enjoy my burger unless it’s ‘messy.’ J But for a turkey or ham sandwich and nothing compares to a good honey mustard. Mmmmm.

Day or Night?  They each have their distinctive moments. I love daytime…a nice walk in the morning or evening, a day at the lake or park, or meeting friends and family for lunch or dinner. But night time is ‘my’ time. My hubby is an early bird and I’m a night owl, so that’s my time to be alone…to write, edit or create whatever my muse leads me to.

Now that you know me a little better, I hope you’ll take a peek at my Tween novel, Ghost Dog of Roanoke Island.

 

Ghost Dog of Roanoke Island

In 1587, 117 colonists disappeared from Roanoke Islandwithout a trace, leaving behind not only unanswered questions, but a terrifying evil. 

Now it’s up to twelve year-old Jack Dahlgren to unravel the age-old mystery and save his family from the hateful beast that haunts the island.

With the help of newfound friend, Manny, a Native American shaman, and an elusive Giant Mastiff, Jack must piece together the clues of the Lost Colony to discover what really happened. Shrouded in ancient Native American folklore, it’s up to Jack to uncover what the evil is and why it haunts his island. But can he destroy it…before it destroys him?

Ghost Dog of Roanoke Island by C.K. Volnek. Available now by MuseItUp Publishing

You can find out more about me and my books at my website, www.ckvolnek.com.

E-mail me at ckvolnek (at) yahoo (dot) com.

Friend me on facebook (C.K. Volnek) or Twitter (CKVolnek.)

I’m also on Good Reads and Jacket Flap.

You can also watch my book trailers on youtube at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RbJEF9TjZzo or by selecting ck volnek.

My books are available at the MuseItUp Book Store: https://museituppublishing.com/bookstore2/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=105&category_id=10&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=1

as well as Amazon and many other fine book locations on-line.

Thanks for stopping by! And remember…I’m giving a FREE e-copy of Ghost Dog of Roanoke Island to one lucky reader who leaves me a comment. Good luck!

C.K. Volnek

www.ckvolnek.com

Charlie, it’s been a pleasure reading all about you and your book. Thanks for being my last guest on the Blog Train. It’s been quite a ride, hasn’t it? I’m so glad I got to know you and the others better. Now I must read all of these books and review them for my readers. Hey, I hope I’m lucky enough to win one of the free books. And how about you out there in cyberland? Be sure and leave a comment for Charlie.

**********

And here is a reminder that the free Muse Online Writers’ Conference starts on October 3, a little earlier this year than before.

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. C.K. Volnek
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 11:09:56

    Hi Barbara,

    Thanks so much for hosting me here today. The blog train has been a lot of fun and I agree, we’ve got some wonderful books to ponder over here! Your book Wounds is definitely on my must buy list! Thanks again and a big hello to all our visitors!
    C.K. Volnek

    Reply

  2. barbarabockman
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 22:17:07

    C. K., Thanks for sharing the photo of you and your beautiful Papillion. I’m sure your pups bring a lot of joy into your life. No doubt you are already into another work in progress. We’ll be looking forward to whatever that might be as much as the Ghost Dog of Roanoak Island.
    I’m almost sad to see this intense month come to a close. It’s been great getting to know you and the other Muse authors. I had so much rather read books for young adults than for adults.

    Reply

  3. Jessica
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 23:05:19

    Hi Charlie,
    Your book sounds really interesting, I love stories based on real happenings. What is your little papillions name? In the interview you said that there was a mastiff in the story, do you have big dogs too? Did you use any of your past or present pets as models for the dog characters in you book?

    Reply

  4. Justin
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 23:46:17

    Hello Mrs. Volnek,
    Congratulations on your new book coming out! What piqued your interest in the Lost Colony?
    Justin

    Reply

  5. Anita Jackson
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 00:26:41

    A dog in the middle of a mystery story–how wonderful is that! I’m a dog lover who’s also into mysteries so I can hardly wait to read this story!

    Reply

  6. barbarabockman
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 01:17:46

    Hi Jessica, Justin, and Anita — you know what actors say about making a movie with dogs or kids. Don’t. They will upstage you every time.
    I think Charlie (C. K.) has a winner with that big dog.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 10:23:34

    Love the interview, Barb.
    Charlie, love the book. We have border collies and labs. Would love a copy of your book! Well, my 8 year old son would love it even more!
    Pam
    jcpams@yahoo.com

    Reply

  8. J. Aday Kennedy
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 13:11:10

    I recently read a book about the lost colony. It’s fun to learn the facts known about it & let your imagination fill in the holes., Good luck with your book.
    Aday

    Reply

  9. Priya Iyengar
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 13:47:24

    Dear Charlie:

    What a simple and sweet interview. Good to know more about you. I will gift this book to my daughter. She loves dogs and ghosts…I’m sure she will love your book Keep writing and we will read.

    Barbara, thanks a bunch for bringing Charlie on the board.
    Love and Hugs to both of you.
    Priya Iyengar

    Reply

  10. Elizabeth K.
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 18:13:59

    Hey! Love your blurbs and exerpts you’ve been sharing on this tour! Sounds like a great read.
    Have a good one!
    Elizabeth K.

    Reply

  11. barbarabockman
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 23:52:25

    Hi Pam, J. Aday, Priya, and Elizabeth. Thank you very much for dropping in and leaving comments.
    Charlie, this is one book that appeals to many generations.

    Reply

  12. C. K. Volnek
    Oct 16, 2011 @ 09:57:07

    Thanks to everyone for stopping by. It’s been a whirlwind with the book birthday and I’m getting down to the wire to select a winner of the FREE book. Good luck everyone…
    Jessica – this little Paps name is Sally. We have four of them. Used to have a Golden Retriever and she was the best dog ever. Love dogs of all colors and sizes.
    Justin – What picqued my interest in the Lost Colony is that the mystery was never solved. What did happen to them? My muse just had to come up with her own version. 🙂
    Anita – Thanks so much for stopping and leaving me a comment.
    Pam – Border Collies and Labs are great dogs. My son has a border collie and she is the best pup!
    J Aday – It is fun to let your imagination run wild. Thanks for stopping.
    Priya – Thanks for the lovely comments. So wonderful to meet and greet new friends.
    Elizabeth – Thanks for the note. Glad you liked the excerpt. It was a fun book to write.
    Thanks to everyone for stopping by. Again, thanks to all and good luck in the contest!
    C.K. Volnek

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 39,510 Visits
