My Guest: Sue Perkins

My guest today is Sue Perkins, a middle grade author who is taking part in the Muse Blogathon for the month of September.

Thank you Barbara for inviting me to visit your blog today.

It’s my pleasure, Sue. You are very welcome. I want my friends to get to know you and your book. Isn’t it great hopping to all these blogs. We’re getting the name of our publisher, MuseItUp Publishing, before the public.

I’m quite overwhelmed by the speed of this blog tour. It seems I no sooner visit a blog – or had another author visit my blog – when the next one appears over the horizon.

A little bit about me. My name is Sue Perkins and I live in the South Island of New Zealand. I love to read and write fantasy books. Reading favorites for adult fantasy are David Eddings, Anne McCaffrey, Terry Pratchett and Naomi Novik. For Young Adult or Middle Grade I love Brian Jacques, Jenny Nimmo and Terry Pratchett. I know Terry’s in twice but his Wee Free Men series on Discworld is hilarious as is his Bromeliad about the world of the gnomes.

Sue, I think many of us are familiar with New Zealand from seeing The Lord of the Rings series which was filmed in your beautiful country. It has such varied topography; many of the scenes were breathtaking.

Now tell us about your writing.

My writing career has encompassed contemporary and historical romance and I have written several adult fantasy books. I am now stretching my wings and my first Middle Grade fantasy will be released by MuseItUp Publishing in October.

I love creating worlds. Usually alternate worlds to Earth, but sometimes I imagine a hidden part of our own Earth. It’s fun to take a familiar location and weave a story around it until it shows a different face to the readers.

Spirit Stealer is set in the nighttime world of a library. After the library closes the characters emerge from the books and float around the library, scaring any children who have been accidentally locked in. These phantoms are playful but the evil green Spirit Stealer lurks in the basement. He takes control of the nighttime world, using the phantoms to drive the children into his evil clutches.

Don’t forget to visit my blog and leave a comment, you’ll find several of my fellow MuseItUp authors have visited with entertaining articles and interviews. See you there.

http://sueperkinsauthor.blogspot.com

http://www.sueperkinsauthor.com

http://museituppublishing.blogspot.com/p/muse-bookstore.html

Thank you for stopping by today, Sue. Your book, Spirit Stealer, is right after the heart of this ole librarian. Reading your synopsis reminds me of working in the public library in my hometown when I was in high school. The oldest and dustiest books were stored in the basement. Fortunately, I never ran into anything as scary as your character seems to be.

And to my readers, I’m Sue’s guest today, so please visit her blog:

http://sueperkinsauthor.blogspot.com

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. C.K. Volnek
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 15:29:55

    Hi Sue, Glad to see you here. Spirit Stealer is making the way around the blogs. Looks like a great read. Thanks for hosting her Barbara B.
    C.K. Volnek

    Reply

  2. Marva Dasef
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 15:38:22

    I do find this an interesting premise for a tween book. I look forward to the release. I usually buy a few books every month form MIU. Point me at a sale book and I’m all over it. But I also try to buy the book of everybody who is a guest on my blog. So, Sue, you have one sure sale waiting.

    Reply

  3. Sue Perkins
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 19:24:57

    Thanks Marva and Charlie, Spirit Stealer was a great book to write and I hope it’s enjoyed by young and adult readers. Thanks also to Barbara for inviting me to her blog. FYI Barbara is on my blog today so we’ve done a swap.

    Reply

  4. barbarabockman
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 22:30:35

    C. K., this is a real whirllwind, isn’t it?

    Marva–Sue has another sale here.

    Sue, I enjoyed reading what you had to say and putting it on my blog. And thanks for hosting me today, too.

    Reply

  5. additional reading
    May 07, 2013 @ 23:24:18

    You’re so interesting! I do not suppose I’ve read something
    like this before. So nice to discover somebody with some unique thoughts
    on this issue. Really.. thanks for starting this
    up. This website is something that is needed on the web,
    someone with a little originality!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 40,030 Visits
