My Guest: Kim Baccellia

I’m happy to introduce my readers to Kim Baccellia today. Thank you, Kim, for visiting and sharing some things about your writing life. The month of September is an exciting one for the young adult and middle grade authors of MuseItUp Publishing. We are exchanging blog posts, and I am coincidentally on Kim’s blog today. See me and hear about Wounds at http://kbaccellia.livejournal.com

Kim wants everyone to know that she will give away an ebook of her novel, Crossed Out, at the end of the tour. So be sure and comment on her interview.

 

I want to thank you, Barbara, for hosting me today.   I’m excited that Earrings of Ixtumea will be a part of Muse It Up publishing.

I can’t praise MuseItUp enough myself. 

Kim, did you always want to be a writer?

I think I’ve always wanted to write but didn’t really take it seriously until later after a community college professor dashed my earlier dreams.  Even though I thought I’d left that childhood dream behind, it didn’t leave me.  It seemed like I was always writing and even made it a big part in my classroom with my first grade students.  Later, I thought, why not take my own advice and try to finish that novel?  So I did.  It’s been a long journey for me but I’m constantly learning.

And I think we are all the richer for your persistence. Sometimes it takes a little maturity to overcome the doubt caused by unthinking and uncaring people.  

What is your working environment like?

 

I do have a writing loft that overlooks my backyard.  It’s filled with writing books, swag from my books, letters from editors/agents, and even some posters that help me get into the mind of my character.  I also have such things as incense from Egypt, some Muslim prayer beads (for the Muslim crossing in CROSSED OUT), Audrey Hepburn buttons, Mexican dichos (proverbs), a huge whiteboard where I map out my story, and a medallion of the Virgin Guadalupe.

Kim, you are fortunate to have this beautiful spot to ponder and write in. As Virginia Wolf says, a woman needs a Room of One’s Own.

When it’s hot I end up either writing at my table under my ceiling fan and put Pandora on with music that reflects my characters.  This year I’ve also been taking my laptop with me to a local Starbucks and just writing.  It’s great.

 

This chart shows that you put a lot of thought and work into your writing.

What writing magazines or other resources do you find most helpful?

I admit it.  I don’t read writing magazines that much anymore unless of course there’s a helpful article on YA.  Resources I do use though include my plotting fairy goddess Joyce Sweeney who has been wonderful with helping me plot and also giving me great suggestions/feedback.  I also love my critique buddies who have been wonderful too.  Groups I love have to include SCBWI, RWA, (I’ve taken more than a few on-line writing classes with them), and YALITCHAT.

I feel it’s important for a writer to join a professional organization that reflects their writing.  I know both SCBWI and YALITCHAT have been helpful to me in more ways than one.

Joyce is also a friend of mine; we’ll have to let her know about this interview. She had wonderful things to say about my WIP, which I hope to spend more time with when the hectic month of September is over.

What’s on your current reading list?

As a reviewer at YA Books Central I get lots of books to read.  I usually go in stages on what I love to read.  Recently some of my favorites included ULTRAVIOLET which nailed the whole sensory issue and is an awesome read; ASHES, an amazing dystopia with a Stephen King feel; SOLSTIC, a dystopia that meets Greek mythology; and UNDER THE MESQUITE, a quiet contemporary YA of a Latina who deals with her mother’s cancer.

Also I loved Simone Elkes PERFECT CHEMISTRY series.  Hot, sizzling romance with a Latino protagonist.  What’s not to love?

Sounds enticing.

What’s your favorite movie?

Hands down: Gone with the Wind.  Loved Scarlett O’Hara who was strong, passionate, and also very persistent in going after what she wanted. 

Next has to be The Notebook.  Loved, loved this bittersweet tale.

I haven’t seen The Notebook, so I should put that on my viewing list. I do remember seeing Gone with the Wind when I was a teenager and several more times on tv. I agree, it had many elements that make it great;  it’s one that I never tire of.

Kim’s book, Crossed Out, is a paranormal about a high school student, Stephanie, who sees dead people. In fact, it’s her job to help them on their way by planting the crosses she paints, hence the interesting title. But there’s more to it than that. There’s an interesting plot twist and romance. Stephanie has to choose between Mark and Dylan.

You can check out my book CROSSED OUT on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.com 

It’s also available at Fictionwise.

My website is www.kim-baccellia.com

YA Books Central review site: www.yabookscentral.com

I’m at Twitter as @ixtumea

My blog: http://kbaccellia.livejournal.com

Thanks for stopping by, Kim. I enjoyed learning about your writing life and getting a small taste of your enormous imagination. 

I’ll see the rest of you over at Shellie Nuemeier’s blog tomorrow: http://shellieneumeier.com

And please stop by here again tomorrow when Shellie will be my guest.

You are invited to Facebook and twitter these postings.

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marva Dasef
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 00:20:50

    I’ve been seeing your name and books around and about the web for some months now. It’s exciting to see you publishing soon with my favorite publisher, MuseItUp. Congrats, Kim.

    Reply

  2. Barbara Ehrentreu
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 05:28:31

    Barbara, this is a great interview with Kim. I am excited to have Kim on my blog soon too. Kim, I’m so glad you are now at MuseItUp. I would love to read this new YA book!

    Reply

  3. gail branan
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 07:41:17

    Kim, one thing I’m convinced up.; Most college professors who trounce students’ writing abilities are not writers, they just think they are. That’s why they never get published and the students they tried to trounce do!!

    Reply

  4. Nancy Stewart
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 08:02:23

    This was fun to read. I love your work space! Such a nice interview.

    Reply

  5. C.K. Volnek
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 11:08:03

    Hi Kim,
    What a great interview. Love your writing nook. I’d probably have to keep the curtains drawn though or I’d spend all my time looking out over that beautiful yard. 😉 The books sounds wonderful. Can’t wait to read it. Thanks for sharing!
    C.K. Volnek

    Reply

  6. Jessie Harrell (@JessieHarrell)
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 11:34:39

    Also jealous of Kim’s writing space! I’d love to be entered to win a copy of Crossed Out. Thanks!

    Reply

  7. Shellie (@shellie_c)
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 11:45:03

    Hi Kim,
    Love the whiteboard. :). I had no idea you were a YALITCHATer:). I’ll have to watch the flying board for your name. Looking forward to reading CROSSED OUT!

    Reply

  8. C. Lee McKenzie
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 14:45:11

    Really glad you didn’t give up on the dream, Kim. Great interview!

    Reply

  9. Karen Cioffi
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 15:27:10

    Ah, having a writing loft sounds wonderful. Congratulations on getting a contract with MuseItUp – Good thing you persevered.

    Reply

  10. barbarabockman
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 16:52:46

    Marva and Barbara, Muse is loaded with excellent authors.
    Gail, I agree. Beginning writers should not be judged by prof. Many of us grow and get good at the craft.
    Nancy, C. K., and Karen–isn’t that a great work space?! I’m also envious.
    Shellie, it’s great that Muse authors know each other from various writer’s sites.
    C. Lee, I’m with you, and Muse is a good place for writers to see their dreams come true.

    It’s been fun, Kim. Thanks for being my first Blogathon Guest. Go MUSE!!
    Thanks ALL, for stopping by.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 39,108 Visits
