Dolphins

My cyber friend, Lynda Burch, wrote an excited letter about seeing dolphins on the beach while vacationing. She had become attached to dolphins during last year’s vacation. In fact, she says her attachment goes back to childhood. This time, she was concerned that because of the oil balls, she might not see any dolphins this year. By the sound of it, she is on a Gulf of Mexico beach. If so, then I understand her feelings.

Lynda is the hard-working publisher of Guardian Angel Publishing. The manuscript I submitted to her, FANTASTIC FLIGHT, takes place on a Gulf of Mexico beach, Pensacola Beach, where my husband and I lived and entertained our grandchildren.

In my story, dolphins are seen frolicking in the surf. The permanent smile on the face of dolphins makes it easy for people to empathize with them. Stories of people being rescued by dolphins makes us feel as if they are our friends. And the opportunity to swim with them is thrilling.

The cleanup of their home waters is still going on. We must take pains to see that such devastation does not happen again. A world without dolphins would be a less beautiful world.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynda S Burch
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 01:01:17

    Yes, Barbara, this our eighth winter on the beach at Pensacola (One other winter after Hurricane Ivan damage on the island we spent in Sandestin.) I have been infatuated with dolphins since my first trip to this beach as an eight year old determined to take one home for our pool in the Midwest. After my Dad convinced me it wasn’t possible, I drew and painted life-sized dolphin pictures on plywood. Dad cut them out for me and hung them on the fence around the pool so I could pretend the dolphins were there to swim with. Maybe that’s how my imagination grew to storytelling, writing books, and ending up a publisher- who knows?

    Reply

  2. Connie Arnold
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 08:24:12

    I love dolphins too! I agree, Barbara, that it would be a less beautiful world without dolphins. Lynda’s experiences with dolphins are interesting and exciting, and those childhood infatuations can certainly play a role in what happens after growing up.

    Reply

  3. ccgevry
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 11:43:58

    I love dolphins too. We get to see them when we vacation in NC each year. They are so neat to watch.

    Reply

  4. Mary Jean Kelso
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 13:41:59

    Maybe loving dolphins is a creative person’s symptom. I have always loved them, too. When we took the grandchildren to Six Flags, Sea World, etc., they always were enthralled with them. Now, I know that’s not in the wild but, the ones we saw seemed to enjoy showing off for the audience. I know some of you might be averse to dolphins in captivity but not everyone can see them in their natural state. One granddaughter was so enthralled by them that I ended up painting a sea scene of all of us at the ocean watching them.

    Mary Jean

    Reply

  5. melangeofcultures
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 13:43:08

    I love dolphins. I have a timeshare in cabo San Lucas, each time I go we always see dolphins. Last year while in Cabo I went on a sunset cruise, during the cruise I got to see many dolphins up close. They really put on quite a show for us.

    Nicole Weaver
    http://marieandherfriendtheseaturtle.blogspot.com

    Reply

  6. Barbara Bockman
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 14:45:38

    Hi Lynda, Connie, cc, Mary Jean, and Nicole,

    Thank you for sharing your love of dolphins and your experiences with us. How ’bout that–all of us writers love dolphins–maybe there is an connection to creativity. There’s no doubt that the sight of those graceful cratures leaping out of the water gives us a jolt of pleasure and expands our imagination.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 38,797 Visits
