My A-Musing New Friends

Having my book, WOUNDS, selected for publication by MuseItUp Publishing has multiplied my pleasure many times over for simply being a part of the Muse Family. The friendly, fun—or I should say—HILARIOUS—welcome I have received is more than anything I could have imagined. Most of the authors who are already a part of the Muse Family are ones I have either met or lurked among since the first Muse Conference I attended three years ago. And also ones coming right behind me, like Barbara Ehrentreu. Then there’s a strange being (?), Bonella, who has really spiced things up recently. You just don’t want to go near her cheesecake! Soon the hard work of editing will begin, but with all these A-Musing friends to call on for advice, help, and support, I know I will get through it okay.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mardi
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 22:00:16

    Sounds fun – enjoy – editing is hard work but v.v. necessary,
    Mardi – Down-under

    Reply

    • barbarabockman
      Oct 28, 2010 @ 22:50:49

      How right you are, Mardi. I’ve heard agents and editors talk at the SCBWI conference about the length of time they spend with their authors. Back and forth and back and forth. It must be frustrating for the author, because sometimes their books change considerably from what they started out as. But I’m willing to do it!

      Reply

      • Barbara Ehrentreu
        Oct 29, 2010 @ 00:51:50

        I’m editing a book for 4RV now and it’s almost finished, but when it started the author had to do a lot of rewriting. Mainly because places didn’t make sense or caused me to question them. Editing continues until you can read through a book and not be stopped by anything. That’s why it’s so hard for both sides.:)

  2. Barbara Ehrentreu
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 22:29:21

    I agree Barbara! Thank you for the mention. That was so sweet of you.:) I am looking forward to seeing your book.

    MuseItUp is one of the coolest places I have ever been. It’s filled with great people ever. Glad to be with you.:)

    Reply

    • barbarabockman
      Oct 28, 2010 @ 22:56:02

      Likewise, Barbara, I’m looking forward to seeing your book, too.

      The Muse sites are terrific places to spread each other’s names around; Lea will make sure that we get interviewed on lots of blogs.

      I’m only too happy to try to emulate her.

      Reply

    • barbarabockman
      Oct 29, 2010 @ 01:30:55

      Barbara,
      That’s intresting about the editing process.
      It’s a good thing that books are edited by a different person because the writer reads through the ms (and I think I have almost got mine memorized I’ve read through it so many times), and it hangs together and flows perfectly. But some of that is in the writer’s head and not on the paper.
      Thanks for the heads up.

      Reply

  3. Rosalie
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 01:19:45

    Hi Barbara,
    The Muse team is terrific and somehow manage to get loads done while seeming to have lots of fun. Unless I am reading them wrong. I have been with Muse for over a month now and am still trying to get the hang of things.
    I have put a link to your blog as Muse author on my blog at Ramblings from Lady Rosalie.

    Reply

    • barbarabockman
      Oct 29, 2010 @ 01:27:20

      Hi Lady Rosalie,
      And I will do the same with your blog (when I can get someone here to help me do it) and Barbara’s, too.
      I am spending too much time in email just now. What with all the welcomes and commenting on the Muse Author sites, in addition to the Muse Conference Board, and my two critique groups, I haven’t done any writing in a few days.
      I hope I can be as productive as the rest of the group.
      Lea has already sent me a questionnaire about blog touring and I don’t have half the things I need for that. It sure does take a while to get the hang of things. LOL

      Reply

      • Barbara Ehrentreu
        Oct 29, 2010 @ 03:18:23

        Barbara,
        I know what you mean! I am getting so much email since I joined the groups, but then I’m used to a lot of email so I got rid of a lot of my other email and now it’s almost all MuseItUp mail.:)

        You can find my blog if you click on my name at the top. Then go to your Dashboard and put it in the list of your links. It’s not hard on Blogger, but I’m not so sure about WordPress. Don’t feel bad. I didn’t do anything with the questionnaire either.

        As far as editing goes, that is the problem with authors thinking that they can do their own editing. Even if you are an editor as the author is who I’m not editing, you don’t catch everything and you’re not aware of places where you might need to add action or cut redundant sentences. That’s where the editor comes in, because the editor has no feelings for your work and we can be ruthless. I’m pretty objective about my own work, but I wouldn’t trust myself to do my own editing. I’m too in love with my work to want to change anything now.:) But I’ll change it when an editor tells me to do it.:)

    • Barbara Ehrentreu
      Oct 29, 2010 @ 03:22:18

      Rosalie,
      I agree! I will try to link with you too. Click on my name to see my blog.:)

      Reply

  4. Barbara Ehrentreu
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 03:20:19

    I meant: “Even if you are an editor as the author is who I’m now editing… 🙂 See here’s an example. I might have gone right over this word if I were in a hurry.:)

    Reply

    • barbarabockman
      Oct 30, 2010 @ 00:32:39

      That is funny, Barbara. Wish I had a smiley face to send you.

      I’m really eager to see what the editor will say. Many, many times I’ve had to choose between different ways to say something, or to not say it at all, and I’ve wished I had an editor to talk it over with.

      Reply

  5. Rosalie
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 01:30:59

    Barbara B,
    What you say is so true. When it comes down to it, I guess we do our best and it will be terrific to have a second set of eyes go over our work.

    Meanwhile, it is so hard to keep up with the forums and even trying to fill in interview questions. They take some doing. So far I have filled them in but not sent them away. 😦 Not sure why.

    Reply

  6. barbarabockman
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 22:59:02

    I saw a set of questions for the October, November, and December authors. Is there another set?

    Reply

  7. thingsmyhusbandsays
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 16:23:35

    This is exciting! Good luck throughout the editing process!

    Reply

  8. barbarabockman
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 17:00:25

    Did he say that or did you? You have me confused.
    But thanks for the good luck wishes — it surely is exciting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 38,797 Visits
