About WOUNDS

In case you were wondering what WOUNDS is about, here is a synopsis:

The setting for the story is the northern part of Florida, not too far from the beach. The time period runs from early fall until the following spring, with the era being contemporary.

The wounds referred to in the title involve an act of vandalism by the boy, Craig, against a huge old oak tree belonging to his neighbors. Craig is carrying a lot on his shoulders. Not only is he grieving his mother’s death, his father started drinking too much and has become physically abusive. Craig has had all he can take. While running away, he attempts to cut down the tree and he himself is wounded. Now the question arises as to whether Craig can “mend” the tree as well as his own bad behavior. The dachshund, Siegfried, adds a touch of levity.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beverly
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 16:01:04

    Congratulatins on your contract. Your story sounds interesting. Best of luck to you.

    Reply

  2. Barbara Bockman
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 18:43:12

    Thanks Beverly,

    I can hardly wait for my book. I know you know the feeling.

    Reply

  3. Holly Owen
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 18:05:53

    I’m so glad your amazing story telling talents are getting the exposure they deserve. And I’m happy to have met you. Your insight has inspired me on many occasions.

    Reply

  4. Jessica
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 04:21:28

    Yay, I’m so happy for you! One less story in the filing cabinet. This one sounds a little dark O.o (ps. I love the bit about the dachshund).
    Love you!!

    Reply

  5. Barbara Bockman
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 21:05:56

    Hi Jessica,
    Thanks for stopping by. I wouldn’t call the story dark, though it does have some intense emotions. But children do have intense emotions, so I think that is true to life. I love the dachshund in the story because I used to have one. Her name was Daisy and I named a hurricane Daisy. (Don’t know if there was ever a storm named Daisy). Pets add so much to our lives, and they are smart, too.

    Reply

  6. Barbara Bockman
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 21:07:33

    Holly, I’m so glad to have been an inspiration to you. Now you must bring your latest creation to SCBWI and share it with the group.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 39,295 Visits
