Fans

Nothing means more to a writer than to know a reader appreciates her work; that he gets it. It’s great when the reader (or listener) is in the writer’s presence and actually laughs out loud. It’s better than chocolate. And that’s what happened at my SCBWI group meeting this week. Sylvia Leontaritis brought her son, Angelo, to the meeting. He likes books and is learning to read. It seems he is also learning to listen; that is another great skill. All of us enjoyed having him at the meeting. I loved it when he laughed at my satirical piece.
I have another fan who wrote me a letter (through the editor). My friend, Cindy Davis, who formerly was the editor of CHARACTERS Magazine, published some of my stories. She also published stories from young people. A boy wrote to say he like my story best after his own.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mardi
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 20:26:19

    This is so good – a true review!

    Reply

  2. Barbara Bockman
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 23:44:49

    Hey Mardi,
    Thanks for checking out the blog.
    Are you planning to set up a blog? So far, I’ve been going at it in spurts. I hope to be more consistent now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 40,030 Visits
