WE’RE BAAAAK!!!

WE’RE BAAAAAK!!
I’ve just returned from a thrilling tour through the United Kingdom and The Republic of Ireland with my grandson, Steven (age 17), and his cousin, Corey (age 18 2/3). As you can imagine, that takes courage. Those boys had to climb on anything climbable, including, castle walls, a five-hundred-year-old tree at Leeds Castle, and the White Cliffs of Dover. It was a wonderful tour, and one we will always remember, especially viewing the Book of Kells and the Bog Man mummy in Dublin, admiring the beautiful crystal in Waterford, soaring above London in the London Eye, riding through the Viking archeological site, Jorvik, in York, standing in two time zones at the Prime Meridian in Greenwich, and being awed by several magnificent cathedrals—Canterbury, York Minster, Westminster Abbey, and Salisbury Cathedral. Our good intentions to keep up our journals were somewhat thwarted by jet lag and time constraints. I took notes, though, and will try to piece together a comprehensible journal. A highlight of our Trafalgar Tour, “Britain and Ireland Delight,” was meeting interesting people and making instant friends. p.s. Thanks to Yvonne at AAA for being a great travel agent. I mustn’t forget to mention that Steven was chosen to participate in the “haggis ceremony.” Haggis isn’t half bad. Also, we visited Stratford-on-Avon and saw Shakespeare’s burial site as well as Anne Hathaway’s cottage; Edinburgh Castle (the Queen was in town that day); the site where Thomas Becket was murdered; saw Stonehenge; rode in front of the house where Jane Austin lived in Bath and felt of the healing hot water at Bath. Oh, yeah, the boys left me stranded in the maze at Leeds Castle.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jonellen Heckler
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 19:00:46

    I loved reading the report of your amazing trip with your grandson and his cousin. You did it all! What energy! What a grand tour. Thanks for sharing it in words.

    Reply

  2. Barbara Bockman
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 20:27:30

    Hi Jonellen,

    I’m glad you enjoyed reading about our trip.
    And I will be sending some pictures if I figure out how to do it.

    Reply

  3. Rebecca
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 21:52:00

    Hi, Barbara! What a lovely blog! I love the design and the colors. And I’m envious of your trip–sounds like you had a great time. Congratulations on your picture book! When is it coming out?

    Rebecca

    Reply

  4. Barbara Bockman
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 23:37:45

    Hi Rebecca,
    Gayle gave me a lot of help setting up this blog. I like it, too.

    Yes, the boys and I had a wonderful trip. I had to pry them away from the Book of Kells. I’m sure that does the heart of a Medieval expert good! I told them about your boundary stone story.

    Don’t have any details about the picture book. Will keep you informed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 39,295 Visits
