Hello and Welcome to my Blog

Hello and Welcome to my blog! Two important things here at the start: first, thanks to my crit buddy, Gayle Martin, for helping me set up this blog. And second: Happy Birthday to Me. We’ll keep the number a deep, dark secret.

As many of you know, I write stories for children—articles, too. The articles have some soft science, nothing overwhelming for young children. I like to share the fun stuff that will pique the interest for more in-depth study later. Several of the magazines I write for cater to home schoolers, but my writing is not for home schoolers exclusively. I have two novels in progress, also.

There are other people I want to thank for helping me to move my writing career along. I belong to the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and participate in an SCBWI critique group. Another group I belong to, the GradingPens, was organized by Lea Schizas, the Mother Hen of the Muse Conference. If only I had the amount of energy Lea has in her little finger, I could fly to the moon! Both the Hoggetowne Scribblers and Doodlers (i.e. SCBWI local) and the GradingPens have helped me with their honest assessment of my work. And I thank my family for being very encouraging.

The best news of all is that I have signed a contract with Lynda S. Burch, the editor of Guardian Angel Publishing, for the publication of a picture book. Besides being an editor, Lynda is also a prolific writer. I met her at the 2008 Muse Online Conference—a cyber meeting, that is.

My plan for this blog is to introduce you to some of my writing friends, perhaps my family, too (and don’t forget the pets), and to some of my writing experiences.

I hope to see you on Facebook and Twitter.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gayle Martin
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 17:56:41

    Hey Barbara, I’m so glad you’re finally starting a blog! I’m looking forward to see what you post, I’m sure whatever you do will be fascinating 🙂

    Happy blogging!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 39,732 Visits
