The Next Big Thing Blog Hop, II

I want to thank Tina Cho for tagging me to participate in “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop.” These answers pertain to my book, which has yet to have a publication date. After the questions, I tag other authors, where you can read about their “Next Big Thing!” Please join us!

My answers to these questions will introduce you to my next big adventure.

What is the working title of your book? Arctic Danger

Who or What inspired you to write this book? I was inspired to write a story about some kids I saw swimming in a river in Alaska when my husband and I were traveling there in our motorhome. But I had no plot. Then I heard about an Alaska pipeline oil spill, and there was my plot.

What genre does your book fall under? Middle Grade Adventure

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? I would choose a couple of unknown kids for the two main characters, Athabascan brother and sister.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? A leisurely kayak trip by two kids is interrupted whey they must rush to report an oil pipeline spill.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? It is under contract with Guardian Angel Publishing.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? About a week or two

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Any middle grade book that has children being courageous.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? The depiction of an unusual environment and the typical lives of youngsters living in a cold climate. Also, that the pipeline zig-zags across the countryside.

Thanks, Tina, for giving me the opportunity to talk about what I hope will be MY next big thing.

Now I would like to tag Jayne Moraski who has a beautiful book in production.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Next Big Thing Blog Hop and a Give Away! « Tina's Tidbits
  2. Tina M Cho
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 21:47:53

    This book sounds intriguing, Barbara! And it only took you a week?! Amazing! Congrats on another contract!

    Reply

  3. Penelope Anne Cole
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 01:30:58

    Hi Barbara, Your new book, “Arctic Danger,” sounds great! My Great Grandmother, on my Father’s side was from the Northern Pacific (British Columbia, Canada) Native American Tribe of Nanaimo, off Vancouver Island. I look forward to reading your book.

    Reply

  4. Nancy Stewart
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 08:02:00

    Barbara, this book souns marvelous! Congratulations on it. Loved the blog.

    Reply

  5. barbarabockman
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 10:48:23

    Hi Tina—let me explain. The question was about the first draft. That was dashed off in a week or two; it took lots of tweaking to bring it up to submittable condition. THEN !! Lynda, the publisher, had me do lots of revising. Besides, it’s not very long.

    Reply

  6. barbarabockman
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 10:52:25

    Hi Penny, It’s interesting how we get to know more about each other through this method of communication. So glad you told me about your Great Grandmother. I had a Great Great Grandmother who was Cherokee. Thanks for sharing that information.

    Reply

  7. barbarabockman
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 10:55:17

    Hi Nancy. I forgot to mention in my “inspiration” answer that you were also instrumental in my submitting this story to GAP. After your story about saving the pelican that was covered in oil after the Gulf oil spill, you encouraged others to write about environmental topics. I already had this story written, so I submitted it. Thanks!!

    Reply

  8. jonellenh@aol.com
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 11:21:45

    Sounds terrific, Barbara! Good luck with it.

    Jonellen

    Reply

  9. Terry Cook
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 14:01:24

    Hi Barbara, my husband and I lived in Palmer, Alaska for two years after he separated from the Marine Corps. He worked as a pilot. I taught school to mostly Inuit children. Even after many years, people spoke angrily about the Exxon Valdez spill and what it did to the coastal area. Your topic is timely and urgent as the current administration is not especially environmentally friendly.

    Reply

  10. barbarabockman
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 17:18:46

    Hi Terry,
    This pipeline spill happened after the Exxon Valdez spill, so you can see, these environmental disasters are a continuing thing. I hope our lawmakers will soon see the light and get on the environmental bandwagon.
    Thanks for checking in.

    Reply

  11. Karen Cioffi
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 09:50:41

    Barbara, your new book sounds wonderful. I love when children’s books make kids aware of environmental issues. Congrats on the contract!

    Reply

  12. kaistrandauthor
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 10:09:49

    Your book sounds great, Barbara. I especially like that when a book is set in an area of our country that isn’t as well known and life in Alaska doesn’t seem overly exposed to this age group. Good luck with it. I’m happy to host you on my blog when it is released!

    Reply

  13. top 10 home safety tips for kids
    May 17, 2013 @ 21:37:50

    I’m really inspired along with your writing abilities and also with the structure on your weblog. Is that this a paid topic or did you customize it your self? Either way stay up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to look a great blog like this one today..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Contact Info:

If you have any questions, please feel free to email me.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,653 Visits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

